• Loading stock data...
10th May 2022

We provide solutions and information for all business needs...

Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo is the designated survivor for Biden’s Direct of the Union

Yearly the administration appoints one member of the Cabinet to remain out of doorways the House chamber for the length of the Direct of the Union in case catastrophe strikes.

Closing year, when Biden gave an address to a joint session of Congress, there used to be no designated survivor, with Cabinet contributors viewing the address from afar due to the Covid-19 restrictions.

    Raimondo, the dilapidated governor of Rhode Island, modified into the secretary of Commerce in March 2021.

      A member of the President’s “Jobs Cabinet,” she has been an brisk surrogate for the administration on matters including a bipartisan push to amplify financial competitors with China and address world semiconductor shortages and the bipartisan infrastructure invoice handed closing November, as effectively as Biden’s stalled Create Motivate Better agenda.

        Raimondo’s division works to promote job introduction and financial increase. The Department of Commerce oversees a wide differ of purposes, including the Decennial Census, NOAA Fisheries, the National Weather Provider and the Foreign Commercial Provider. It also oversees ocean and coastal navigation and helps negotiate bilateral trade agreements.

        Raimondo is tenth within the presidential line of succession.

          The presidential line of succession is outlined within the Presidential Succession Act of 1792, which used to be updated for the length of the Truman administration within the Presidential Succession Act of 1947.

          The most modern line of succession is:

            1. Vice President Kamala Harris
            2. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi
            3. President Pro Tempore of the Senate Patrick Leahy
            4. Secretary of Direct Antony Blinken
            5. Secretary of the Treasury Janet Yellen
            6. Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin
            7. Attorney Long-established Merrick Garland
            8. Secretary of the Internal Deb Haaland
            9. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack
            10. Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo
            11. Secretary of Labor Marty Walsh
            12. Secretary of Health and Human Products and services Xavier Becerra
            13. Secretary of Housing and Urban Pattern Marcia Fudge
            14. Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg
            15. Secretary of Training Miguel Cardona
            16. Secretary of Veterans Affairs Denis McDonough

            Secretary of Fatherland Security Alejandro Mayorkas used to be born in Cuba and Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm used to be born in Canada. Both were naturalized as US residents, but they are ineligible to help as President and subsequently can no longer be the designated survivor.

            By admin